Okra, yum.

July 12, 2010 at 8:40 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Liam and I took a little field trip to the Eastern Market Saturday in search of a particular consignment shop and some fresh veggies and fruits from the market. It took awhile for us to get there on the Metro, but as always, Liam loved the train ride. We found some new shoes for Liam’s growing feet (size 5 now!), and some fresh strawberries, peaches, heirloom tomatoes, and my very favorite, okra!! We got back in time for lunch, and I cut up some strawberries and peaches for Liam to enjoy. Except, he didn’t really enjoy them all that much. I can usually entice him to eat strawberries by dipping them in powdered sugar, but I didn’t think that would make a suitable lunch, so I heated up one of his turkey and gravy meals. That, he loved. On a lark, I tried dipping a chunk of peach in the gravy, and he gobbled it straight up! Same with the strawberries. Liam is such a little man…everything’s better with gravy, mama!

Thankfully, being one quarter Okie, he didn’t need gravy to love fried okra. It’s our first of the season, and his first taste of it. I didn’t get them quite cooked the way I like – I used our wok, and the slices didn’t cook very evenly. Next time I’ll drag out the big frying pan. I can’t wait to have more!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

