Welcome to the 21st Century

August 11, 2010 at 9:51 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment

I can finally count myself among the throngs of iPhone users, thanks to my dad-in-law’s thoughtfulness and good fortune to have found himself in possession of an extra. (Thanks, again, Robert!!) Two AT&T store visits and one phone call later, and I’ve got the doo-hickey working. Sort of. They managed to get most of my contacts from my old phone moved to the new phone, but once I synched it with my yahoo account, I had quite a mess on my hands. I can see the usefulness of having your email and phone contacts all in one place, but the two aren’t playing nice right now. As far as I can tell, if I go in and clean up my yahoo contacts, add some missing phone numbers, delete some duplicates and whatnot, those changes will show up on my phone when I sync it. While I’m at it, I should add some house addresses, too. I can’t tell you how many times I get to the post office just to realize I left my address book at home. Then there’s my favorites from Internet Explorer…now there’s a hot mess. I better organize those, too. Geez, I had no idea how disorganized all this stuff was! Thankfully, I find this kind of stuff cathartic, and I know once I get all of these housekeeping chores done, I’ll be having some fun.

So, all you iPhone-using friends of mine – yeah, you braggarts, you know who you are – what advice do you have for a novice user? Any settings I should be changing from the factory settings? Any apps you can recommend?

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. LOL!! Amanda your so funny!! 🙂 Hmmm.. I definitely would download some apps for liam!! 🙂 Jayley loves the Alphabet Apps, Wheels on the bus and the signing app.. 🙂 There’s so many to choose from too! 🙂 I downloaded Angry birds.. *its a fun app to kill time… lol* I have Facebook app and twitter app…. omg.. I have a TON of apps… craigslist, groupon, coupons.com… *see where I’m going with this? Lots of apps for savings!* Oh and the flashlight app *for when the power goes out again! hahahaha* 🙂 Hope that helps!!! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

