What’s going on lately

August 15, 2010 at 8:45 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment

My shiny new iPhone has distracted me a bit from blogging, so sorry I haven’t posted in awhile. I’m finding I can go a whole day without turning on my laptop because I can check my email, surf the web, and check the weather on the phone. It’s especially great because Liam’s fear of the printer has gotten worse. Now he acts like he’s protecting me from the eeeeevil appliance, and I’m not allowed to sit near it. I’ve got my laptop hooked up to keyboard, tablet, and monitor, so moving it is a major pain. Now I’m looooving that I can do all this stuff on my phone in the living room while Liam plays. Plus, when Liam got fussy, I just showed him the Spongebob app, and he got all quiet and curious. I also discovered I could plug it into our surround sound downstairs and play tunes from the Pandora app. Needless to say, I’m liking my new toy.

In other news, swim lessons was a bust. Since I last wrote about it, our instructor was late to every subsequent class, didn’t even show up for one of the classes, and then, when we had a sub who actually taught us a few things, we all realized how bad the instructor really was. One of the moms volunteered to write an angry letter, and we’re hoping to get either a refund or credit toward another class. We’ll see what happens.

Yesterday my friend Kasia came over to babysit Liam while James and I went out for lunch and “dished” at Let’s Dish. We couldn’t agree on a movie to see, so this was the best date we could come up with. We’re such an old married couple! We haven’t left Liam with a babysitter before, and I was worried he’d cry when we left. But no, this kid couldn’t care less! Kasia said after we’d left he’d play for awhile, then patter to the door and say “Mama” over and over. She’d say, “Mama’s coming back later.” And he’d carry on with playing for awhile, then get up again to go to the door. He didn’t cry at all. Just called “Mama.” What a funny kid. He went down for his nap just fine. And we were so worried! James and I had a nice time at lunch, though it felt strange to be dining without him. We mostly just talked about Liam. Lord, we’re becoming those people.

Through dumb luck I managed to score us a new grill. The old one has been busted ever since I attempted in vain to fix it (really thought I had it there, too, but then I actually broke it when I tried to reassemble it, d’oh!), and when I called the manufacturer to order a new part, they said they had discontinued that model, and all I had to do was bring it to Lowe’s and exchange it for a new one. I didn’t quite believe them, so I called Lowe’s to double check. Sure enough, we brought the old one and got a new one in exchange this morning. The new one is even better and more expensive, even. Now if it just quit raining I could put the thing together and start charring some MEAT! Yum.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. iPhones are the bomb. Best phone ever in my opinion. Maybe lacking in some areas, but I think the app graphics are the best after seeing so many other phones.

    Yay for date day! I’m glad you were able to get out successfully. I’m determined to make this happen for Jonathan and I. We’ll see what happens.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

