Pilates 101

August 30, 2010 at 8:00 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 4 Comments

While I’m hardly an expert in Pilates, I figured 5 years exercising to a Denise Austin DVD would have prepared me for Pilates 1 at Willow Street Yoga. But just as I found with my very first yoga class, I was doing it all wrong. Or at least not as precisely as I should have been. Now I realize Pilates is hard! My instructor is a former dancer, and quite the taskmaster, so there’s definitely some sweating involved. Which is a good thing — I’m sick of buying bigger pants. The only downside is I don’t have the time or money to take yoga as well. But this has been a welcome change of pace. I signed up for the next session, which lasts until Christmas. Here’s hoping my gooey center melts a bit.

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Let me guess; you have Roberta? LOL She is quite the drill-sargent but she keeps you honest and stays true to the Pilates principles. There is no hiding under her (evil) eye!

    I’ve taken for over 5 years from her and I love LOVE her. Really; it’s one of the reasons I don’t want to move because all other Pilates classes I’ve taken elsewhere are fluff.

    I noticed a huge change in my body when I stopped going after we bought the house (wasn’t as convenient as walking down the street!). But once I got back into it I felt and looked soo much better and I credit her and Pilates for the reason I got back into my normal britches so fast after having Syd!

  2. yeah, i’m really liking the class, and you’re right, Roberta keeps you honest. I was thinking of you the other day, complaining about “sleepy time” at the end of yoga classes. No sleeping in pilates for sure!

  3. I could never go over to Pilates. I’ve decided I hate working out and the concept of it. Only yoga for me because I can fool myself. Did you ever take an ashtanga class? Now there’s an ass kicker.

    • Oh yes I remember the Ashtanga pain! Pilates is surprisingly fun, actually. The exercises aren’t hard to understand, and you don’t do that many reps. But you definitely feel it in your core.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

