The Craft Gene, or lack thereof

October 4, 2010 at 8:55 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

When one walks into my mother’s house, one is instantly aware of the time of year. Every season gets its own wreath for the door, its own knick-knacks for the living room, its own season-appropriate photographs for the walls. She even switches out her paintings to better evoke the mood of the season – leaves of red, orange and brown for autumn, and hearty green leaves for spring and summer. Its been like this as long as I could remember, candy corn dishes and a witchy scented candle at Halloween, little ceramic angels at Christmas, cute plush bunnies at Easter…you get the idea.

In stark contrast, my living room stays exactly theDSC_0061 same ALL YEAR ROUND. Well, except for the hats we periodically change on our bust of the David, which sometimes coincides with the seasons, but mostly shows off all the cool places we’ve been (a Fez from Istanbul, a fuzzy Russian hat from Prague, one of those Chinese caps with the braid down the back from San Francisco, a safari hat from Kenya, etc, etc, etc). Don’t get me wrong, I do decorate for Christmas, more than James would like, in fact. But I pretty much ignore every other holiday and season change. I either don’t have the time, or don’t want to spend the money on decor when I would rather spend it on something more important. And forget about making something myself – despite my somewhat artistic career field, I think my mother’s “craft” gene skipped over me or something. I’ve always figured that once I had an actual house, or once I had kids, that might change. But now I’m beginning to wonder. Perhaps I’ll make a bigger deal out of Halloween and Easter when Liam is old enough to care. But judging from my general lack of interest in decorating, I doubt it. Which kills me, because I love seeing decor in other people’s homes. I really do. And I think, “why can’t I do that?” But after dragging out all my Christmas decor, and then packing it all away in January, I wonder why anyone would want to do this for EVERY SEASON? Apparently my craft gene got swapped for the lazy one.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

