Time of death 8:57 PM

October 30, 2010 at 12:35 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Bluescreens of death popped up all day yesterday. James and I did CPR to no avail. Time of death was pronounced at Best Buy 3 minutes before closing time. Cause of death: fried graphics card. On a 4-year-old computer, that’s a death sentence.

So, looks like I’m in the market for a new computer, and I need it before Monday. I’ve got my eye on Dell’s Studio XPS 8100 with the Intel i7 processor, 8GB RAM and 1 TB hard drive. Those numbers astound me–my now dead laptop had 2 GB RAM and 100 GB hard drive. Amazing how quickly computers improve. Once I’m over the logistical hump of retrieving my back ups from my external hard drive and re-installing all my programs, I think I’m going to be happier with the speed and performance. And I think a desktop is a better fit for what I’m doing–now that I can do so much online with my iPhone, there’s no need for me to take my computer anywhere. Plus, I can get more bang for my buck.

Too bad I don’t have more time, or I’d consider getting a Mac. But the hassle of figuring out how to transfer my files, compatibility with my existing hardware and software, and the time I’d have to spend figuring out how to use it, it’s just not feasible right now. Perhaps in another 4 years.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

