Oh Christmas Tree!

December 6, 2010 at 5:44 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Sunday I put on some Christmas music, kicked James out of the room (after he’d hauled the Christmas tree box upstairs of course) and set to work putting up the tree and decorating the mantle. Liam watched for awhile, then played for awhile in complete disinterest. After getting the tree up and configuring the lights the way I wanted, I agonized over the mantle until Liam realized I wasn’t paying enough attention to him, and we had to take a break. By the time I was ready to put the ornaments on, Liam was down for his nap. Probably better that way. As you can see from this video, he’s pretty good at taking ornaments off the tree, but not so good putting them on.

Liam’s gotten quite adept at pointing and naming colors. Even if he does sort of invent names for them. He can name Red (Raa-raa), Orange, (Rong-Rong), Blue (Boo!), and Green (Do-Do).

So, this year I decided to design my own Christmas cards using the lovely photos we had taken this year. I got so excited picking out backgrounds, designing the cover and inside, picking out fun, script-y typefaces. I went with Uprinting.com because they were having a sale, and I’d used them for my business cards. The print quality isn’t the best, but they’re affordable, and I didn’t want to spend a ton of money on these. Today they arrived in the mail, and I was dismayed at the small size of the package. Surely my beautiful, one-of-a-kind Christmas cards aren’t THIS small. But sure enough, inside were the smallest Christmas cards I’d ever seen! I guess I hadn’t realized just how small 5X7” is when it’s all folded up. They still look nice, though the print quality and UV coating aren’t as nice as I would have liked. Perhaps next year I’ll switch to a beautiful, one-of-a-kind ecard.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

