Dr. Liam/Mr. Hyde

February 14, 2011 at 4:23 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Monday is laundry day. After an inspection for stains and smells, I surreptitiously sneak Liam’s beloved blanket into the wash. Usually he’s distracted by Dinosaur Train, then Baby Yoga class, then lunch, and by naptime his warm, freshly laundered blankie is ready for cuddles.

But not today.

After a dash downstairs to start the bedding load, I crept upstairs and heard a familiar whine, “Boo boo!!!” Liam-ese for, “I want my blankie, mommy!” I calmly explained it was in the wash, and it would be ready soon. How about a snack? After two bites of cereal bar, he ran to the door, thrust his tiny palm against the frame, and declared, “Laun-ry!” Enough time had passed that I could switch his blankie from the washer to the dryer, so we marched downstairs to the washer, I pulled out his wet blankie, and I showed him how damp it was, how uncuddly it was. He seemed satisfied, even helping me put it in the dryer and closing the door. Disaster averted.

Or so I thought.

We arrived at Baby Yoga class, and from the very start he was out of sorts. Hellllooo, Mr. Hyde. I grabbed his snacks and headed out the door for an emergency snack break. He shoveled in cheerios like he hadn’t had a meal in days. Then he asked for milk, which of course I didn’t have. I brought water. It always goes like this – the days I bring milk, he wants water. The days I bring water, he wants milk. And bringing both is too cumbersome. After snack guess what he asked for? Yep, his Boo Boo. I explained his blankie was at home, but there were blankets we could play with in the other room. Let’s go play! He reluctantly accompanied me back to Baby Yoga, but he only snapped out of his foul mood at the very end during story time. The teacher even asked me if there was anything she could do to help him enjoy the class better.

On the way home we stopped at the grocery store to pick up a few things. Liam sat quietly in the cart like he always does, but then Mr. Hyde reared his ugly head at the check out line. And, of course, I had the slowest, oldest, most handi-capable person in front of me taking forever. Breaking into a rendition of Baby Beluga calmed him down. Thankfully I’m not embarrassed to sing in public anymore. 

We got home, I threw lunch in the microwave, then dashed downstairs to grab the blankie. And, of course, because nothing can go right on days like these, it was still very wet. I threw it in with the next load, hoping another 30 minutes would do the trick. Upstairs Mr. Hyde screamed in his high chair, refusing mac ‘n cheese (even though he was talking about wanting to eat it all the way home), broccoli and cheese, peas, and just about everything else I tried to give him. He did finish most of his cereal bar from this morning, and about half a carton of yogurt. Then he was screaming to be let down. I shoveled in a few more bites before giving up in a huff, wiping his face, grabbing him out of the chair and putting him in time out in his crib.

Mr. Hyde very mad!

I suddenly remembered his blanket was (hopefully!) dry downstairs, so I dashed back down there, pulled out a nice, dry, warm blankie, then walked into his room. He sat up, yelled and pointed, “Boo boo!”, climbed up into my arms and cuddled the heck out of it. And it was like a switch went off. Dr. Liam was back. He played quietly on the floor wrapped in his Boo Boo, completely tantrum free, until nap time. 

The lesson here: must get “backup” blankie. The original was from my registry at Babies R’ Us. God, I hope they still sell it. Urgh. And as awful as he’s been in the new Baby Yoga class, I’m wondering if we shouldn’t bring the blanket to class next week. I’ve noticed some kids bring dolls and small stuffed toys, so I think a blankie would be ok. Let’s hope.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. One day I caught his daddy snuggling with a wet blankie on the clothesline!!!!!! I remember those days well of trying to wash the blankie!!!! The apple doesn’t fall far from the tree!!! LOL

  2. I hope you can find a backup. We got two stuffed monkeys, and my sister wisely told me not to return the second one. If Chewy develops an attachment to a homemade blanket, I’m not sure what I’m going to do. We only have one commercially available blanket.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

