Spring and Summer TV and movies

June 10, 2011 at 11:25 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment
Tags: ,

Seems like I’m always blogging about Liam or moving or play dates. I can hardly remember the last time I blogged about TV or movies. Especially strange since I’ve been watching so much of both every evening now that I don’t have any freelance work. So, without further adieu, here are some new shows that have caught my eye recently:

  • Game of Thrones (HBO). James and I love, love, love this show! If you’re at all into fantasy (think Lord of the Rings), you should definitely check this out. On our way down to Florida we listened to the audio book, and from what I heard (we barely got through what the series took 5 episodes to cover), the TV show stays remarkably true to the material. I especially love Peter Dinklage playing “The Imp” Tyrion Lannister. The dialogue is wonderfully written, and I’m completely riveted by all of the story lines.
  • Traffic Light (Fox). So disappointed this little comedy is not getting picked up for a second season. It is seriously laugh-out-loud funny. The three main guys are the main characters, but their wives and girlfriends definitely steal some scenes. I love how frank the story lines have been, and I especially love how they start the show off with the three guys talking on their hands-free phones in their cars on the way to work. Seems so much less contrived than most shows that have friends all meeting up somewhere.
  • Love Bites (NBC). I just discovered this gem, and it’s quickly becoming my favorite of the ensemble cast comedies. It has a Love Actually or Valentines Day movie feel to it, with characters and storylines that take place all over the country. It’s about love, sex, and all the trappings of marriage and dating. I particularly like how it’s broken into vignettes, and how you see that some of the characters are friends with each other even though they don’t live in the same city. I’m getting kind of sick of the Friends and How I Met Your Mother model of comedy where we’re stuck with the same group of friends in the same place, and they’re always pairing off and breaking up with each other. In only two episodes of this show we were introduced to at least a dozen new characters, which was refreshing.
  • The Borgias (Showtime). This show actually just wrapped up, but with Jeremy Irons playing the ambitious Borgia Pope, and all the intrigue, scandal, murder, and political plotting that for the most part really did take place at that time, it was a must-see at our house. The season was disappointingly brief, but so good that I’m sure there will be more episodes next spring.
  • On another note, I should mention that Showtime has some absolutely amazing shows in their lineup. I’m so glad I subscribe. In addition to my favorites Dexter, United States of Tara, and Nurse Jackie, there were three new shows on in the spring that were refreshingly different from anything else I see on TV these days: The Big C with one of my favorite actresses Laura Linney playing a woman coping in her own strange way to stage 4 lymphoma; Shameless with William H. Macy playing the deadbeat drunk single dad to a brood of dysfunctional kids in a rough area of Chicago; and Episodes with Matt LeBlanc playing a womanizing, idiot version of himself. Or maybe that’s how he really is, lol. I’ve heard great things about The L Word and Californication, but I’m so far behind, and I’ve only got so many hours in the day (or night, rather) to watch Showtime!

As far as movies, I don’t get the opportunity to see as many of those as I used to. Last night I watched Knight and Day, the Tom Cruise/Cameron Dias action/comedy. Funny in parts, but two hours I wish I’d spent doing something else. The best movie I’ve seen in the last few months was Away we Go, with Jim Krasinski from The Office, about a couple trying to find a place to settle down and call home for their baby on the way. Wonderfully quirky, sad, witty, and especially poignant for me – though we’re a little further along with our family and STILL trying to find home. With the prospect of lining up a babysitter, and even more challenging, finding a movie we both want to see, James and I probably won’t go back to the theater together until the new Harry Potter film comes out in July. In the meantime, I’m looking forward to seeing Super 8 next week with my friend Stacy, who shares my love for Sci Fi books and movies, and all things Steven Spielberg and JJ Abrams. If I’m not totally obsessed (or more obsessed) with our Florida move, I’ll try to remember to write a review next weekend.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

