One week left

June 18, 2011 at 10:41 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 3 Comments

I can’t believe we’re only one week away from our Southward adventure. And I find myself doing what I almost always do before one of our cross-country moves: planning my new life. I know, a laughable task to be sure. But there’s something hard wired in me that must. Have. Plan.

Usually I get where I’m going, get busy with unpacking, catch up with friends, and I quickly forget all my Big Plans. But this time around I have no friends where I’m going. I’m not gonna lie: this has me worried. I’m a social creature. But then i thought perhaps this void would enable me to fulfill some of those plans I so yearn to actually follow through on. Nothing life-changing. Just stuff I want to do when we get where we’re going. For instance, I want to start cooking again. Real cooking, with new recipes and fresh ingredients. Our new kitchen is so spacious and luxurious, and we’ll have a much better setup for grilling outside. There’s a year-round farmers market just up the road. And Liam is finally at an age where he’ll either watch tv or play in his little kitchen while I cook. No more excuses!

Another plan: I want to join the YMCA. I’ll have to gather more details before I commit, but it looks like they’ve got pilates and yoga classes, plus free babysitting. And I’m hoping the mild winter will keep me from my annual exercise hibernation. I’ve even convinced James he should join, too. Would do us some good methinks.

Finally, I’ve decided it’s high time we get a regular babysitter. In the past we’ve been too cheap and too over-protective to hire someone, but with a little more wiggle room in our finances and Liam able to communicate verbally, I think we’re finally ready. I’m sure we can find someone through sittercity.com or care.com. I heart you, Internet! And now James and I can go on actual dates! Like real grown up couples!

As for making friends, I’m sure that will come in time. I have resources for that, too (again, thanks, Internet!). Or perhaps I’ll make friends the old-fashioned way. At the park, the pool, the library. Hell, even our backyard, the neighbor’s houses are so close!

One week. Happening so fast. But in a good way.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. You realize Tarre is in Orlando, right? I have no idea how far apart you two will be but she is there so maybe you can meet up with a familiar face on occasion.

    Good luck with the move, I look forward to coming to visit since Miles has been planning to go back to Florida since we left last October. And I’m totally jealous of you being so close to Coco Beach.

    • Oh, yeah, I forgot that Tarre lived in Orlando. I always knew it was somewhere in FL. Thanks for reminding me! Though, to be honest, I haven’t seen her since she came to NYC about 5 years ago, and I feel like I barely know her. But still could be fun to connect. Thanks, Candi!

  2. I hadn’t seen her since my wedding, and we reconnected very quickly and had a great visit. Plus Bob is a bit of a homebody, kind of like somebody you know well, and she isn’t.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

