Beach, Take Two

July 28, 2011 at 4:18 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Mmmmm, the beach is so much better with a beach umbrella! Liam and I took a solo trip back to Cocoa Beach today, and we had a fantastic time! This boy loves the ocean. My only gripe is I wish he could walk himself from the parking lot to our spot on the beach. Last time he made it about 5 feet past the boardwalk before he was complaining about sand in his shoes and insisting I carry him. This time I took the stroller and, funny enough, we only made it about 5 feet from the boardwalk before the wheels locked up. I managed to turns the stroller around and tow Liam backwards with all this stuff slung over my shoulder – I’m sure I was quite a sight! Between that, monkeying with the umbrella, and towing him back to the boardwalk, I got a decent work out at least, lol. Once we got all settled, we spent the next few hours building castles (or, rather, me building, him knocking down), running into the surf, and jumping over waves. A couple of big waves hit him in the face, which he didn’t care for much. But I tried not to make a big deal out of it, and hopefully with time he’ll get more used to it. We had a comfortable lunch in the shade, and I even managed to read a couple of pages in my magazine! I’m hoping that improves with time, too. One thing that did improve – his handling of a shovel. Something just clicked with him, and after showing him a few times, he finally got the hang of scooping up sand the right way. He seemed to enjoy playing in the sand even more this time because of that.

I’m thinking next time I’ll try a different beach, Playalinda Beach at Cape Canaveral. It’s a little further to drive to, but according to the google map, it doesn’t seem as far from the parking lot. It’s supposed to be more secluded, as well. Not that Cocoa was particularly crowded. But there is something rather serene about having the beach to yourself. Or almost to yourself, anyway.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

