Hot Yoga

October 23, 2011 at 5:20 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment
Tags:

While perusing the website of a new yoga studio that just opened in Avalon Park, I noticed a Bikram Yoga, or hot yoga, class on the Saturday lineup. I’ve heard mixed reviews about this type of intense yoga practice where they jack up the temperature, but in my constant quest to burn more calories, I thought this might offer the best of both worlds for me – an exercise I love doing with a high caloric burn. According to some sources, you can burn anywhere from 500 – 1000 calories in an hour-long class, depending on the intensity of the workout.

So last Saturday I brought along a towel (though I forgot my water, doh!), and headed to the new class while Liam spent a couple hours with daddy. It was indeed hot: the temperature gauges read 90 degrees when I walked into the room. I think my senses have acclimatized to Florida because it didn’t feel unbearably hot to me. In fact, I could already feel how loosy goosy my joints were, which for yoga is a plus. The instructor warned me that she was going to keep the pace slower than usual because the other student in the class (there were just two of us) had just finished a triathlon that morning. That was fine by me – better to ease into this anyway. Knowing me I’d faint or something. Sheesh.

Despite the supposed lower intensity, I sweat my heart out! But in a strange way I liked it. I found myself very fluid and able to stretch better into poses. With so few students I got some individual attention and correction. Even though I’ve been doing yoga for years now, one can always benefit from instruction and adjustments. And, man, did Savasana feel good!

I’m not sure if I’ll be up for this every week (plus, it’ll get expensive dropping into this class as well as paying for my monthly YMCA membership), but I’ll definitely be going back. I’m interested to see how rigorous a normal class is. I feel like I need to start challenging myself more since I’ve been attending more yoga practices lately.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

