Looking forward to 2012

January 1, 2012 at 11:34 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment

A shiny new year in a shiny new city! So much awaits us in 2012. Welcome visitors: Grandpa Bob in just a couple of weeks, Travis in February, my in-laws in March. Perhaps we’ll get to see Jeanie this spring, too, if her family comes down to visit Florida relatives.

In January the Snowbirds descend and many of the Disney crowds disperse, so we’re looking forward to getting some use out of our season passes while the weather is so nice. We also want to make another trip to Sea World so we can see the penguins in the sunlight. Their habitat reflects the light and dark of summers and winters in Antarctica, so they sat in almost complete darkness during our visit last May.

We look forward to starting our house hunt in earnest in the spring. I’ve gotten quite cozy here in the Avalon Park area, so we’re going to concentrate our search here. I love the idea of walking and biking to the downtown area for shopping, dining, and events. I have my pick of weekday yoga classes at the Y and challenging yoga workouts at a studio around the corner, both with excellent instructors. The two elementary schools that serve the area both rated 10 out of 10 on Great Schools, and the high school is one of the best in the Orlando area. James’ commute is about 30 minutes, and once they complete a new road currently under construction, he’ll be able to get there without paying tolls. We’re about equidistant from the beach and the theme parks: about 50 minutes either way. The homes in Avalon are all designed with small front yards, big front porches, and garages in the back. The only blight on this picture-perfect community is the coal plant that looms on the horizon. I’ve done some research and talked to residents, and while it is rather unsightly, the perks of living in the community outweigh any resell concerns. As coal plants go, it’s one of the cleanest. Perhaps as green energy demands rise and become more affordable, they’ll eventually switch to solar. There’s already a huge solar array installed on the property. In the meantime, I’m finding it less and less annoying every time I see it while driving down Avalon Boulevard. As long as I can’t see it from the windows in our new house, I can live with it.

Winter in Florida, it goes without saying, is awesome. I’m finding my usual winter doldrums nonexistent. I’m getting plenty of exercise riding my bike and going to the Y, so I’m hoping any pounds I gained over the holiday will shed quickly and easily. I usually feel like hibernating this time of year, staying indoors, avoiding the cold. But now I’ve got no excuses! And I’m loving it!

And Liam is finally three! I’ve been looking forward to this age, full of exploring, learning, questions and insights. I look forward to exploring our new city a little more with him this year. I’m signing us up for an art and music class in January. He seems more interested in Disney World, so we could even take some outings there on our own. And once it warms back up, it’s back to the beach!

Yep, 2012 is going to be great!

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Oh Amanda this seems so lovely! I’m so excited for you guys and your new year in a place that makes you so happy! : D


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

