Learning at the Library

January 4, 2012 at 1:27 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment
Tags:

Pretty recently Liam has understood the concept of checking out books at the library. Last year all he wanted to do was play with the toys and puzzles in the kids section. But now he delights in putting the old books in the return slot and picking out new books with me. What makes this especially fun the last couple times we’ve been is I’ve somehow been able to check out books for both Liam and I on similar subject matters. After watching Cars and Cars 2 about a billion times, I got on a real map and high way history kick. I checked out The Big Roads (about the history of the highway system in the US) and Mapheads by Ken Jennings, of Jeopardy fame. Then for Liam I happened to find Jackson and Bud’s Bumpy Ride, about the first cross-country trip in the early 20th Century by the infamous Horatio Jackson, which was instigated by a $50 bet he never even collected. Liam and I read his book every night, and I was delighted to read a small passage all about it in The Big Roads one night.

For our most recent library outing, I checked out John Lithgow’s memoir Drama: An Actor’s Education, so I picked up two children’s books by Lithgow himself: I Got Two Dogs and Macawber. Both come with a CD with the actor singing or narrating the story. And both are super cute. We may have to check out the rest of his children’s books next time. I also found Swamplandia! by Karen Russell, which satisfies my urge to read everything having to do with my new home state. For Liam I found There’s an Alligator Under My Bed by one of my favorite children’s authors, Mercer Meyer.

I’m not sure if I’ll be able to keep this up. Not every subject matter I read about lends itself well to preschool-age reading material. I also just finished The Help (borrowed from my mom), but I doubt I’d find much about 60s civil rights that Liam would have any interest in. But I do have an eclectic list of books I’m always on the lookout for, all of which have come from either interviews with the author or recommendations from the book critics on NPR. I also plan to buy Stephen King’s new book 11/22/63, and the complete Game of Thrones series for my Nook, which might prove challenging to tie in with Liam’s reading material. But maybe it’s worth a shot – so far it’s been fun trying to hunt through the kid’s section for a relevant book. Liam usually has his own requests, too – last time he requested a book with a red truck and then something with a pig. Quite a scavenger hunt, but fun nonetheless.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

