More Books for Me and Liam

January 24, 2012 at 3:03 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment
Tags:

Liam and I had ourselves a little library outing today. We were both sad to have to return the John Lithgow picture books, especially Micawber. While riding the sea-themed carousel at Sea World, I heard a snippet of what sounded like John Lithgow singing about Manatees. Sure enough, we found I’m a Manatee complete with CD inside the back cover. We can’t wait to listen to it!

Thinking of our week with Stanley, I scoured the children’s shelves for the Flat Stanley book. A helpful librarian pointed me in the right direction – to the juvenile fiction section. Yikes, this book has a lot of words for a three-year-old! But I should have known, since it was assigned for Devin’s first grade class. I’m not sure if Liam will have the patience to sit through me reading it, but we’ll give it a try. At the very least I’ll be sure to read it so I’ll know what all this Flat Stanley hubbub is about!

I did my best to once again tie in some of my reading material to Liam’s. I checked out Orlando: Then and Now and Erik Larson’s latest offering, In the Garden of Beasts: Love, Terror, and an American Family in Hitler’s Berlin. So, yeah, that last one was pretty much impossible. Not too many picture books about the Third Reich. The best I could do was Going on a Journey to the Sea, about a boy and his sister traveling to the beach. Technically there aren’t any beaches in Orlando…but they’re only an hour away. It’ll have to do.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. There is no where better to go than to the library, our family does at least a weekly visit.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

