Preschool update

October 23, 2012 at 5:03 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment
Tags:

We’re on week three of preschool, and while Liam still whines every Tuesday and Thursday morning, he seems to have made his peace with it. This morning he marched right in, then panicked and wanted me to carry him to his teacher. But then I set him down on a stool in front of some legos, gave him a hug and kiss, and left without fanfare. Hooray! He still insists on bringing his boo-boo, and I’ve started packing him a lunch because he says, “I don’t like their food. I like the food at OUR house.” Unless it’s french fries, which apparently they serve every other week. Leave it to my kid to glom onto the only unhealthy food this school serves. The teacher said he barely touched his lunch today, despite my having packed it, so I’m thinking he also doesn’t like eating there. I find he does the same thing when we’re on play dates, hardly touching his food and instead wanting to play.

Today when I went to pick him up, I noticed he was off by himself while all the other kids were sitting together with the teacher. I’m not sure how often that happens – I haven’t brought it up with his teachers. But he said something about getting his finger hurt when another kid wanted to play with the castle, so I think he’s still a bit gunshy playing with new kids. He talks often about the teachers, but never about his classmates. Probably typical for this age. And for my introverted kiddo.

But, I’m already seeing improvements on the playground. Last week on our play date with Nicole at Dinosaur World, the playground was teeming with kids of all ages, and Liam didn’t cry at all when they were running around him and past him up on the equipment. That’s a first! I haven’t tested how he does when another kid wants to play on his slide. That’s always been touchy with him. We’ll see how that goes.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

