Visit with Travis

November 2, 2012 at 10:51 am | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment
Tags:

IMG_1286James’ best bud Travis came to visit us this week, and we had a blast taking him to Epcot Food & Wine, Universal Studios, and trick-or-treating on Halloween. It was a cold day at Epcot, but as long as we kept moving and ordered warm food, we felt good. Travis humored me by watching Captain Eo with me, that cheesy 80’s Michael Jackson 3D show. I didn’t even know George Lucas produced it. It was hilarious! Leftover star wars sets, rejected space puppets, and a villain that seemed like an inspiration for The Borg. A lot of 80s synthesizers and MJ signature hip thrusts, and then she morphed into Anjelica Huston. It was quite a treat. And everything I’d hoped it would be. I remember first hearing about Captain Eo when I was a kid, watching some behind-the-scenes special on it. And I vowed someday I’d make it to Disney World to see it. Fast-forward 26 years later…mission accomplished.

IMG_1288

We left Liam in preschool for an extended day so we could enjoy the rides at Universal. And enjoy them I did! While Travis and James ran a few errands, I arrived at the park ahead of them and rode the most awesome roller coaster, the Rip Ride Rockit. I loved it so much, I rode it twice! Those two wouldn’t go near it. But I love me some thrills! We bumped into Curious George and managed to snag a photo for Liam. The only other particularly noteworthy ride was the Simpsons ride. It was James’ favorite, though it left Travis and I little queasy. The Minions ride was also pretty fun, and also kind of nausea inducing. James and Travis stayed to ride The Mummy ride, though they said it was hardly worth the 45-minute wait.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

