Election Day…at preschool

November 6, 2012 at 11:08 am | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment
Tags: , ,

Today when I dropped Liam off at preschool, I saw they had a voting booth set up inside a play house. The kids were voting between the dolphins and the lions, and they’d get an “I voted” sticker when they came out. So cute! Liam, of course, didn’t want to participate while I was there. But perhaps Miss Denise can talk him into it. He still whined that he didn’t want to let me go, but when I handed him over to his teacher, he was all grins. We’re gettin’ there.

I had a little chat with the school’s director last week, and she told me Liam is well above average in math and verbal skills. She asked if we’d consider switching him to three days a week. We’re having a parent-teacher conference in a couple of months, so I think I’ll wait until then to decide. Another option is to put him in all five days for fewer hours per day. But I’m bummed that might ruin some of our outing days to Disney or the beach. Next fall he’ll be starting VPK, which will be half days every day. I’d kind of like to hold on to the time I’ve got with him while I can. Can you believe this kid is gonna be four in a couple months? I can’t.

Saturday James and I made our third trip (my fourth trip!) to Epcot Food and Wine, and after careful planning, we got stamps from every pavilion in our passport! Sweet! Our Disney passes expire tomorrow, and tonight I’m headed to Magic Kingdom for a special sneak preview of the new Fantasy Land addition, which features Beauty and the Beast and the Little Mermaid. I think James is going to sit this one out…apparently work was atrocious yesterday, and he’s suffering from theme park overload. Unless he miraculously hears that he got the Denver job, I think I’ll be going on my own.

Still no word on Denver. And it’s not looking good – it seems like they should have notified the selected candidate by now, but you never know! Until he gets the official rejection notice, we’re still holding out hope. In the meantime, he’s made the list for a job at the regional office in Orlando, and he’s pretty confident he’ll get an interview. Crossing my fingers that one comes through if Denver doesn’t. 

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

