So this is 35…

November 28, 2012 at 11:55 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment
Tags:

That’s Liam and I mid-pie recipe. I set out to make this simply decadent pie, full of pecans, chocolate, heavy whipped cream, caramel, butter, eggs, and cream cheese. A Southern delicacy. And a huge pain in the ass. When I finally sank my teeth into the first bite, I thought, “Yikes. Too much.” I’m not so sure pecan pie needed so many add-ons. Now I wish I’d just stuck to the recipe I got from the back of the Karo syrup bottle.

Liam helped me lick the bowl, which is to say he gobbled up all the remaining chocolate, then proceeded to literally bounce off the walls. It was clearly wine o’clock for mommy. Then bedtime for Bonzo.

Now it’s quiet, my belly is way too full, and I’m 35. Whoa. What? That can’t be right. James and I had set ourselves a little deadline that we’d have that second kid by the time I turned 35, or as my friend Maggie calls it, “Elderly maternity.” Not only am I 35 now…but my eggs are, too. Friends and family keep asking me about that second kid. And I’ve been a bit cagy. We want a second kid, have for awhile, but I’m beginning to wonder if it’s in the cards for us. And, really, that’s ok. We’re not, like, obsessed with the idea of having exactly two kids. We’ve always operated under the philosophy of “it’ll happen if it’s meant to happen.” But all this waiting…and aging. One starts to wonder. I mean, I know 35 is not some drop-dead date. Certainly a lot of moms I know had kids in their mid-to-late 30s. But sometimes, it’s just not meant to be.

Who knows? Perhaps our little family unit is like my favorite pie. Just fine the way it is, without the add-ons.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

