The Geminids

December 14, 2012 at 9:58 am | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

I’ve had this meteor shower marked on my calendar since August. I thought it would be so cool to show Liam shooting stars. After a new episode of Curious George aired about watching for The Persians, a meteor shower that happens in August, he’s been really excited about it. This shower was supposed to be the biggest one of the year, and with a new moon, the sky would be nice and dark. So last night we pulled our chairs out into the back yard, bundled up in jackets and blankets, and watched the stars through patchy clouds. Ooo- I spotted one! Liam, look! But he missed it. He kept pointing at airplanes, asking if those were it. Nope. After 15 minutes, he started playing with the flash light. And then it was all over. After I got him in bed, I decided to wait until later in the evening when the shower was supposed to hit its peak. Right around 11 I switched off the TV, grabbed my hat and blanket, and headed outside…to a completely overcast sky! Disappointed! I resolved to wake up in the wee hours of the morning to see if the clouds had passed. But you know how those things go…before I knew it, it was daylight. And still cloudy. Oh, well. Better luck next time. Looks like the next one will be January 3. Or we can try the Persians in August. 

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

