Liam’s Ornaments

December 16, 2012 at 12:44 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment
Tags: ,

When I was a kid, my mom made a tradition of getting my sister and I an ornament for Christmas every year. It was usually in our stocking, though sometimes we got to open it on Christmas Eve. It’s a tradition I’m carrying on with my own family.

This year, because we’re headed to Lexington next week, I decided to let Liam open his ornament early. This is the first year he could actually hang it on the tree himself without much assistance. It got me thinking about the other ornaments I’d gotten him since he was born. On his first Christmas he was turning one, so we put a photo of him enjoying his first bite of baby food.

DSC_0001

At his second Christmas, we were reading Curious George to him every night, and he had just discovered the cartoon. Little did we know this was the start of a Curious George obsession that would last…well, at least to age four. Probably longer!

DSC_0002

At his third Christmas, he had succumbed to the craze that almost all little boys of his age group succumb to. Lightening McQueen!

DSC_0003

And though we’ve had this book for a couple of years, it wasn’t until Liam’s fourth Christmas that he has requested I read The Polar Express to him every night. James bought him the movie, and we’ve watched it four times already. So this seemed like an apt gift for this year.

DSC_0004

Liam keeps saying a train will be coming to our house on Christmas Eve. I think we’re in trouble.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

