Remembering Grandma

February 8, 2013 at 6:52 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment
Tags: ,

GrandmaO

Grandma O. passed away last night. She would have been 83 this month. Her health had recently taken a turn for the worst, and she was going to need round the clock care. Then she had a bad fall. And then it was her time. We saw her as much as we could the past few years as her health declined. I’m so happy all of us made it out to see her last September. All of the kids, grandkids, and great-grandkids were there. It was a good day.

I have so many great memories of her, especially from my childhood. The first grandchild typically gets to pick the name grandparents go by. Not so for me. Until I was about five, I called all of my grandmothers by the color of their hair. I had “Grandma with the Black Hair” (Grandma Weddle) and “Grandma with the White Hair” (Great Grandma Arth). “Grandma with the Gray Hair” quickly nixed that. She suggested “Grandma O” because her last name, Overhuls, was hard to pronounce. And it stuck.

Grandma O. was an elementary school teacher, and she always had summers off. She and Grandpa Jack drove a motorhome, traveling all across the country on their vacations. We thought that was so cool. We gave all the neighborhood kids a tour of it once when our grandparents came to visit us. I believe that was the same time that we all went camping at Truman Lake. I remember we slept in the tent and the grandparents slept in the motor home. One night we had quite a rude awakening followed by a mad dash for the motorhome in the pouring rain.

We visited Grandma in Cincinnati about every other year or so. I remember Grandma played the piano. There’s this great picture of me playing piano with her when I was about three. They had a house with a screened in back porch. We all used to sit back there and play dominoes and card games like Oh Hell and Bunko. She drank iced coffee long before Starbucks made it trendy. She had this throaty laugh that I’ll never forget. I loved that laugh.

I remember visiting Cincinnati for Christmas one year and arriving just in time to throw up all over grandma’s couch. And the last time I visited her in her condo, Liam threw up all over her carpet. Funny how things come full circle.

So many great memories. Ones I’ll never forget. Rest easy, grandma, wherever you are. 

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

  1. So sorry for your loss. Something about that photo looks like you, the eyes? Have loads of fun during your parents’ visit. I had great time with them last night seeing, “On Golden Pond”


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

