Yoga at Home

June 18, 2013 at 1:30 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Liam and I are on a funny schedule. Because the sun is up so late, he’s going to bed around 9:30 or 10, and I get a couple hours to catch up on shows and reading until I conk out around midnight or one. Or two. Been having some trouble sleeping lately.

Anyhow, Liam has always served as my alarm clock, usually rousing me around 7:30 or 8. But these days he’s laying in bed until 9 or even 10. And this leaves me zero time to make it to my 10:30 yoga class at the Y, which starts 30 minutes earlier than my class in Florida, and it’s about 30 minutes further away. It’s a great class. I’d love to go. But Liam needs a lot of prep time before we leave the house. Much ado about putting on his own clothes, which we’re tediously working on, and eating his breakfast one nibble at a time. And, yes, he’d like another waffle please.

So this morning I was super bummed to be missing class again. But then I remembered, I have all the props I’d need here: a mat, a bolster, a brick, a strap. Even an eye pillow. So I cleared out the dining room, ran the Swiffer, put on Cars 2 in the basement (and set up Liam with his own yoga mat so he could feel he’s participating), put on the Yoga channel on Pandora, and started my own practice.

And it was. wonderful.

I could combine all the elements I loved from all the yoga studios and teachers I’ve practiced with over the years. Chanting from Integral Yoga in the West Village. Balancing from Willow Street and Blue Heron in DC. Leg stretches from Darling Yoga in Overland Park, KS. Balancing poses from my friend Calli at the Y in Florida. And I ended with a relaxing Savasana I learned from Ashley in prenatal, laying over a bolster with feet bound and knees supported. My eye pillow still smells like lavender. The practice lasted about an hour…I wasn’t really timing it.

And now Cars 2 is just about over. Next we’re off for a picnic lunch at the park and a bike ride. I got in all my exercise without putting up with Liam’s fit about going to the day care at the Y. Maybe sleeping in wasn’t so bad after all.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

