The Picky Eater vs. Baked Chicken Nuggets

September 12, 2013 at 9:54 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment
Tags:

I thought surely he’d try this one. It’s chicken breaded in panko crumbs with parmesan cheese and various herbs. I admittedly served it with two side dishes I knew he’d never touch: canned beets and alfredo pasta. But breaded chicken? Easy sell. I talked up the chicken nuggets all afternoon, that I was going to make them in the oven, and he could help. But when it came time to make dinner, Liam was more interested in watching Lion King for the millionth time. Fine, whatever.

Finally it was time for dinner. Liam took one look at his plate and screamed his head off, ran into the living room and proceeded to lay on the floor kicking and screaming. I ignored him for the first half hour, insisting that he come up and just TRY the chicken. Mmmm, it’s so good. Mommy’s really outdone herself. I was met with, “Those aren’t the chicken nuggets I liiiiikke!” After I’d finished my meal, I came over and sat with him on the couch. I told him if he didn’t want the chicken nuggets I made him, he could suggest another healthy option from the pantry. I told him his dried fruits and vegetables were ok, but I was NOT cooking him anything, particularly his favorite Tyson chicken fries. That set him off again, so at 7 o’clock I told him he’d just have to go to bed hungry. Despite complaining that he was “staaaarving!” he picked going to bed over eating anything at the table, including some dried peaches and corn I’d put in a bowl for him.

The bedtime routine went surprisingly well, and now he’s snoozing away, not in the slightest inconvenienced that he missed dinner entirely. Tomorrow we’re trying pork chops, a recipe he’s eaten before. We’ll see how it goes.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

