Suddenly feeling my age…plus 10

January 25, 2014 at 11:02 am | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Having crossed over the other side of 35 recently, I’m suddenly noticing my “oldness.” I no longer get carded for booze. Highlights are just barely covering my grays. My joints ache when a cold front is coming through. And what is with these wrinkles on my forehead? When did THAT happen? Even my hands are looking old. I used to have such babyish hands, with little dimples and smooth skin. If I look closely I see teeny tiny brown spots. Are those liver spots?! Maybe they’re just freckles. Yeah, I’ll go with that.

Icing on the cake this year, I just found out my childhood friend Tiffany is going to be a grandma this summer. What?? And she’s a year younger than me. Now I realize that 35 is unusually young to be a grandma. And I’m not entirely surprised — she had her kids when she was very young, and so did her mom. But it still blows my mind that in a technical sense, I’M OLD ENOUGH TO BE a GRANDMA.

I can barely believe that my own son is going to be starting Kindergarten next year. My baby is growing up so fast! And so is mom, apparently.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

