No Going Back Now

August 28, 2014 at 10:32 am | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment
Tags:

Now that Liam is in school full time I’m coming up with all of these projects to keep myself occupied. It’s no secret we move a lot, and during the last move I remember unpacking two or three boxes of just CDs. With the advent of MP3s, it’s been several years since I bought a new CD. So I thought it high time I condense our collection into more manageable CD books and get rid of all this unnecessary plastic packaging. And now James and I can never get divorced – our CDs are irrevocably mixed together!

As I painstakingly alphabetized and moved dust jackets into little sleeves, it got me reflecting a little bit. Like how, as I hold a certain CD in my hand, I can recall precisely where and when I bought it. Marilyn Manson’s Antichrist Superstar was on a memorable night in Columbia, MO, with my then high-school-aged sister visiting me at college for the weekend. Portishead’s Dummy was at Virgin Records in Times Square on a trip to The Big Apple with Jill and Matt Good to visit my college friends Todd and Marisa, who were living on Staten Island at the time. For Tool’s highly-anticipated 2001 album Laterlus, I stood in line at midnight at 7th Heaven in Blue Springs. I doubt I’ll ever get that much recall with on MP3 purchased on my phone.

It was also interesting to see what CDs we had in duplicate, what music both James and I liked before we knew each other. R.E.M.’s Automatic for the People, Sting’s Ten Summoner’s Tales, Stabbing Westward’s Wither Bluster Burn + Peel, the soundtrack for the movie Lost Highway. After we moved in together in May of 2000, we saw the movie Snatch and apparently both bought the soundtrack. I guess that was before our “what’s yours is mine” mentality kicked in. James embraced my love of everything Maynard James Keenan, purchasing his own copies of both A Perfect Circle albums. I like to think these common musical interests speak to our suitability. Nowadays we’ll catch each other listening to a song, and suddenly we discover we both love it and didn’t know it! And now we have separate copies purchased on our devices through iTunes. It’s not quite the same, not quite as tangible. But it’s nice to think that even after sixteen years together (Whoa!), though our interests have diverged, we still can surprise each other with a common song.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

