A Name is Chosen

January 27, 2015 at 11:36 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments
Tags: ,

Right after our last sonogram, I sat down with the baby name book and made a list of girl names. It was at least 20 names long. I didn’t want anything too trendy, so I’d also printed out the top 50 girl names of 2014. Some names I put under first names, others as middle names. It was quite a list.

Then I handed it off to James, and he proceeded to cross off every single name except one. Well, that certainly helps narrow it down, dear! Then he suggested another first name, and a couple middle names to consider. We deliberated all month long. I wondered if we’d walk into the delivery room with two names in hand and decide after she was born. But I was really starting to lean toward one name over the other, and I think James was, too. We decided to table the issue—we still have a few months, right?

But then, as I should have expected, Liam made the decision for us. I’ve been bantering our favorite name about, perhaps a little too cavalierly. As he was watching the letter “V” on his beloved ABC Mouse videos last night, he turned to me and said, “I think we should name the baby Violet. That’s a pretty name.” Then, in a move that was almost too cute for words, he leaned over to my now bulging bump and whispered, “Your name is going to be Violet now.”

Heart. Melting.

So now it’s decided. Violet Annabelle Fletcher. I thought of the first name, James thought of the middle, and Liam decided for us. Perfect.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

  1. Beautiful!

    • That’s a beautiful name! I’m getting uterus envy …


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

