Why, Hello There, Third Trimester!

February 24, 2015 at 10:02 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment
Tags:

7 months bump

We’re in the home stretch! Just three more months to go…or less. I wasn’t entirely surprised to learn I’d gained 8 pounds since my last visit to the doctor’s – twice as much as I should have. Over the past four weeks I’ve given up Pilates for Gentle Yoga, outgrown two pairs of maternity pants, and I’m noticing a lot more lower back pain. I’ve had to break out the maternity support belts on numerous occasions, which makes me feel a bit like I’m going mountain climbing. But it really helps, so whatever. Sleeping has also been an issue. It seems the bump needs it’s own support now when I sleep on my side, so I picked up a wedge at Babies R Us, and that’s helped some. I’m also getting annoying clumsy, dropping things on the floor (and then struggling to pick them up, lol) or bumping the belly into things. Or people. Sheesh.

The doctor measured my belly and said I was measuring a tad big, which is exactly what happened with Liam. But, by some miracle, I managed to pass my initial gestational diabetes test this time. Yay for not having to take the dreaded three-hour test, or even worse, developing diabetes! My blood work did indicate that I’m mildly anemic, so I need to add more red meat and leafy greens to my diet. Steak and spinach, mmmmm.

The doctor sent me home with a pamphlet encouraging me to take some time out of each day to count the baby’s kicks. I’m supposed to time how long it takes her to jab or move 10 times, which according to this brochure, could take anywhere from 30 minutes to 2 hours. Say what, now? This girl easily kicks me 10 times inside of 2 minutes! It feels like she’s moving all the time, in fact, though she does snooze quite a bit, too. And her kicks have gotten noticeably stronger – it amuses me to balance my e-reader on my belly at night and watch as it flits up and down.

I know pregnant gals always complain about being hot, but I’m always freezing! Perhaps because it’s winter. I don’t know. But I have this awesome blue fleece robe (a gift from my mom-in-law, thanks, Patti!) that I practically live in at home.

So now I’ll be seeing the doctor every two weeks, watching for swelling feet (and hoping that doesn’t happen this time) and biding my time until little Violet arrives. We have another sonogram scheduled in March to check on the position of the placenta. Apparently it was a little low on the last scan. I’ve been going to yoga 3 times a week, and getting prenatal massages once a month. And I have to say, I’m feeling much better than I anticipated feeling with my second pregnancy as an “elderly maternity.” I think all of this exercise has really paid off. Let’s hope I can keep it up!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

