Finally, spring!

March 11, 2015 at 9:52 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment
Tags: ,

Seventy-five and sunny, spring is here! At 3 o’clock I strapped on my full set of maternity belts and set off to get Liam at school. All winter long I’ve missed being able to walk with him to school and back, and I figured this might be my last chance. The belly is only getting bigger. I was doing great, even marveling at how well paced we were (normally he trails me as I holler, “C’mon, slow poke!”), but then about halfway back I noticed my hands and feet were starting to swell. Yikes! We made it home, but I had to take some time to drink some water and put my feet up. I had high hopes I’d be able to volunteer for his zoo field trip in late April, but now I’m not so sure. I may have to spend more time sitting and less time walking.

Our infant car seat and stroller arrived yesterday, and it’s so wonderfully new and shiny and…purple! Yeah! I figured Vi is going to have so many other hand-me-downs, we could afford to splurge on a few new things for her. Liam took the stroller for a spin in the basement, then told me he was going to have to practice pushing it every weekend so he’d be able to take her on walks. Heh, we’ll see how much actual pushing he does – if it gets him excited about walking to the park with me, I’m game, but I have a feeling he won’t be able to see once we’ve strapped the infant seat in the stroller. My poor kiddo needs to grow some more!

This weekend James and I are tackling the garage, rearranging boxes and bins, making our luggage more accessible, lining up our armada of strollers, and getting the last of the big baby items assembled. We just have the swing and crib left. My mom is reupholstering our glider in the coming weeks, and we’re planning a small baby shower in mid-April, so pretty soon the nursery should be complete. Then we just have to sit around and wait. And wait. I’m at 30 weeks now, so in theory we have 10 more weeks to go. James thinks she’s coming early, I think she’ll be late, and Liam thinks she’ll arrive exactly on her due date, May 19. Time will tell!  

We have a sonogram scheduled for next Tuesday, and I’m hoping to get a definitive answer on baby’s gender. Our sonogram technician seemed pretty sure, but I keep having nightmares that she’s going to come out a boy, and we’ll have bought all this pink and purple stuff for nothing! It wouldn’t be the end of the world, of course, but I’ve really gotten excited about having a daughter. Fingers crossed all goes well, and I’ll have some new sono photos to show off, too!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

