I heart CFS (again)

April 16, 2015 at 1:24 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment
Tags:

Way back in 2005, I posted this little ditty about my love of school lunch Chicken Fried Steak. I still have fond memories. So imagine my delight when I saw my beloved CFS on Liam’s lunch menu on the week I had planned to eat lunch with him! Not only did I want to relive the memories for myself, but I also wanted to pass the torch, as it were, and witness Liam’s first bite of my lunchroom nostalgia. 

No surprise…it wasn’t as good as I remembered. But I don’t fault my memory. The steaks were a bit scorched, making the edges impossible to cut, they served it with white gravy instead of brown, and they didn’t include that fluffy white roll and the pat of butter I so craved. My one consolation was that Liam actually ate it and enjoyed it! He didn’t touch any of the side dishes, but I’m not going to quibble.

Sigh. I guess the CFS of my memory will have to remain there. Schools are focusing more on providing square meals, and something tells me breaded steak AND potatoes AND a roll is entirely too many carbohydrates. It has been, yikes, nearly 20 years since I last ate lunch at my high school…what did I expect, right?

After lunch Liam asked if I could stay for recess, so I marched down the hall with the rest of his class to the playground. It’s so eye-opening to observe your child with other children. Here I was worried at the beginning of the school year that Liam would have trouble making friends and engaging with other children. Today I worried that with me standing there he’d hover and talk to me, or stand around and talk to the recess lady. But instead, he took right off with a bunch of other kids. I was surprised to see him at the center of attention, directing the activities for the group. He said, “Let’s play tag!” and they all chased each other around. He made his way to the playground equipment and they all followed his lead. I thought he’d be playing mostly with the girls, but he seemed at ease playing with both boys and girls. His teacher mentioned at our last conference that Liam might be a good fit for student government someday. I think she’s right. 

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

