Liam’s First Summer Camp

June 22, 2015 at 10:02 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

This morning I dropped Liam off at Exploration Place for the first day of his week-long summer camp. The theme this week is Water, Water Everywhere. He was a little nervous on the car ride over, but no more than I imagine most kids are about going to a new place. Violet was wailing in the back almost the whole ride over, so that probably distracted him. We checked in and sat at a table with some other boys that looked to be about his age, second-graders, it turned out to be. I asked one boy his name, then introduced Liam. Liam leaned over to me and whispered, “Mom, I have enough friends. I don’t need to make any here.” I reminded myself that a year ago he would have refused to talk to anyone and refused to participate, and two years ago he would have been clinging to my neck and crying. Instead, as I nursed his fussy sister, he got up and, with a little help from the instructor, found a partner to do the first “welcome to camp” activity. No clinging, no whining. This boy has come a long way. He was the smallest kid there by about a foot, and it kind of broke my heart to leave him there with all those big kids. But it’s something I’m going to have to get used to, having a kid so small for his age. I pick him up at 4 today, and I hope all goes well. We’ve got four more days of camp this week.

********************************************

Another first today: a solo trip to the grocery store with Violet. She slept in the Baby Bjorn the whole time. In fact, in some ways it was easier than taking Liam. No insisting she push the cart, no insisting we buy certain foods, no complaining that this is TAKING TOO LONG. And I got lots of oooo’s and ahhhh’s from other customers. She really is precious.

********************************************

Liam survived summer camp! Day one, at any rate. He complained that it was too loud and that his lunch wasn’t to his liking (apparently it’s too much to ask him to pick the lettuce and tomato off his ham sandwich from Jason’s Deli. “My foods can’t touch each other!” he explained.) But other than that, he said he enjoyed it. we’ll see how the rest of the week goes.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

