Our Summer Whirlwind

August 1, 2015 at 3:03 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Little did I know then that I'd be attached to this ball permenantly.School starts in two more weeks! I can hardly believe it! This hasn’t exactly turned out to be the summer I envisioned before Violet arrived. I was hoping to walk to the park in the mornings, take the kids to the museums, invite a lot of friends over. Instead we’ve mostly stayed inside because of the heat, and Liam spends a majority of his time glued to a screen. Not my finest moment, but it’s all I can do to stay on top of Violet’s needs. She nurses constantly and hardly naps unless I’m holding her. I practically live on the green yoga ball. It’s the only thing that reliably calms her down and puts her to sleep. Housework has been spotty at best, and thankfully James has been great about pitching in when I ask him. But Liam has mostly been left to his own devices…which isn’t all bad. I’ve taught him how to make most of his breakfast on his own – he can toast up a waffle and microwave bacon. I prepare milk the night before, and I’ll scramble him an egg if I can get Violet settled down. He picks out his own clothes, dresses himself, makes his bed (with some assistance when I can manage it), and brushes his teeth all on his own. He can work all the TVs, access the DVR, sign into Netflix or Amazon. He has his own iPad now, and he can find all his games on his own.

IMG_4027We have broken up the screen time with a couple of trips to Kansas City, and he spent more than a week there on his own, playing with his cousins and generally driving my parents batty. And my neighbor has been generous about taking Liam to play with her kids at her house while I run errands. Plus we’ve had a lot of visitors this summer, with more coming next weekend. It’s no wonder this summer felt like it blew by! My one big regret is I didn’t work with Liam on reading and math like I was supposed to while on break. Thankfully my kiddo is a smarty, and he still knew all his sight words when I quizzed him yesterday. He was ahead on math last year, so I’m not too worried about that, but he does struggle with sounding out words and figuring out spellings. I’m hoping we can sort all that out in school this year, and that our big move doesn’t disrupt that too much.

Oh, and the move! That’s been a huge time suck, too! And it warrants its own post, methinks. Right now I’m bouncing the sleeping girl in the sling (after two failed attempts at napping in her room) so I can have two free hands to type with, Liam and James are seeing the Minions movie, and I’m meeting them afterward for a late-afternoon dinner at Jose Peppers. I better get crackin’ on this second post! (Oh, and there’s laundry to do…it never ends!)

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

