Five month milestones for Violet

October 21, 2015 at 10:35 am | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment
Tags:

Three more weeks until Vi is six months old (where did the time go?!), and this week she hit a couple of major milestones. First, all this week she’s been super cranky and drooly. Despite Liam acting the same way at this age, he didn’t cut teeth until around 8 months, and I was expecting about the same from his sister. But yesterday as she was chomping down on my knuckle, I felt a barely perceptible sharp angle on her bottom gum. I wasn’t sure if I was imagining things, but this morning it’s even more noticeable. My baby girl is cutting her first tooth! At five months!

Five months was also the time Liam started sleeping in his crib, so I decided to give it a try with Violet. She’s been very cozily sleeping in the Pack n’ Play in our room, and often times in my arms in the bed, until now. Monday morning I gently laid her in her crib for her morning nap, eyes open, and she just laid there looking around. Wow. This was easier than I thought! But then five minutes later the wailing started. I dutifully waited 10 minutes before going in, and I tried my best to comfort her without picking her up. But she WASN’T HAVING IT. So I bounced her back to sleep and gently laid her down. Well, as gently as I could – we’re not using our old drop-side crib anymore, so I have to stand precariously on a stool to get her in without waking her. Sheesh. Fifteen minutes later she was crying again. Needless to say, it was a long day for both of us. That night, after a handful of attempts with the crib, I decided to put her back in our room and try another tack in the morning. Tuesday I moved the Pack n’ Play into her room next to her crib. It just barely fits. And things went more more smoothly after that. In fact, last night around 10:30 she woke up, then managed to calm herself after 15 minutes. Way to go, Violet! She woke up at 1:30 and 4:30 to nurse, and I took her to my bed for the latter one. But she slept most of the night in her room for the first time ever! I’m hoping we can eventually segue into the crib once she has self-soothing down pat. Progress!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

