Two weeks until the Biggest Move Ever

January 6, 2016 at 11:38 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

I’m a big list-maker. Every time we move, which is often, I make this huge to-do list about a month or so in advance. There’s something about crossing off items on a list that makes me feel organized and accomplished. For one move I even typed it up and broke it down by date, but that was before we had kids. Now I just hurriedly scrawl something on a legal pad. I’m up to three pages now. Sheesh.

James does not seem to share my enthusiasm for lists, nor my growing concern that we have so much shit left to do. He’s had the last three days off work, and while he did spend a good amount of time on his laptop yesterday filling out paperwork, it seems to me he’s spent most of his time sitting in front of the TV while I’m running around the house doing one task after another. Perhaps that’s not fair – he’s waiting for our passports to arrive in the mail to get a few of his tasks done, so his hands are tied in this regard. And I did take a lot of time out today for a Swedish massage and to volunteer at Liam’s school. But I’ll tell ya one thing: Nothing earns a busy woman’s scorn faster than a man lying on the couch.

It could be much worse, I keep telling myself. The movers arrive next Thursday to pack up the whole house for us. They take care of arranging and packing for storage. They take care of shipping the car. We don’t have to look for a place to live in Greece – that’s all taken care of, too. And because we rent, we don’t have to worry about selling or renting out our current house. Really all we have to do is figure out what we’re taking to Greece, how it’s going to get there (some gets shipped by mail, some by freight), and what we’re leaving behind. We’ve got a hotel and rental car booked until our flight leaves, and we’ve even got someone from the Embassy picking us up from the airport when we arrive. There’s a furnished temporary apartment waiting for us when we arrive, and with any luck, we’ll be all moved into our permanent residence by February. Piece of cake, right?

Except.

We have A LOT of stuff to organize. And we have a lot we want to get rid of. We have a limited amount of space for storage and shipping, so we’ve got to pair things down as much as possible. Liam thinks we’re taking all of his toys. For to laugh. I’ve got to get Liam registered for school. There’s mail to forward and utilities to shut off. And about 50 million other little things that always come to me in the middle of the night. I’m wearing a tread in the carpet from the bedroom to the kitchen where I keep the list. I really should just keep my list by the bed.

And, let’s not forget, I’ve got this huge time-suck…Violet still nurses about every two hours, and she needs at least two naps a day. I have to drive Liam to school every morning and pick him up every afternoon. Clothes need to be washed, meals need to be prepared. The house needs to be…oh, who am I kidding? No way the house is getting cleaned. What I wouldn’t give for a maid right now. And a nanny. And a wet nurse.

Two more weeks in the United States. With so much to do, I haven’t given much thought to the implications of that. It probably won’t hit me until I’m on the plane flying over the Atlantic. And maybe that’s a good thing.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

