Violet Turns One!

May 10, 2016 at 5:24 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment
Tags:

DSC_0004Oh my goodness, look how big my baby has gotten! We had a little birthday party for her on Saturday with some new friends we made at the Embassy. She had a wonderful time, and we adults had a wonderful time with some wine and beer! Liam had some older siblings to play with at the party, and he loved helping her blow out her candle and open her presents. So much about her has changed this month! Here’s the rundown:

  • My girl had five teeth now! Three on top and two on bottom. And the way she’s been drooling lately, I think number six is going to pop through any day now.
  • Just lately she has decided napping in her crib is NOT for her. I hope this is just a phase…and does not spell doom for that morning nap. She’s been sleeping in my lap twice a day, and she’s been getting up in the middle of the night most nights, too. She used to calm herself, but now she can pull herself to stand in the crib, and she refuses to lay herself back down. We’ve both been very tired!

20160510_104614212_iOS

  • Oh, this girl is a CLIMBER. She puts her foot up on every available surface she comes too. We have an old rocking chair of Liam’s in the play room. It took him over a year to figure out how to sit in it. I think he was three before he gave it a go. Violet managed to pull herself into it in no time flat. She got back down all by herself, scooted it around the room until it was next to the baby gate, then climbed into the seat and stood up with a leg perched to climb the gate! Thankfully I was watching her do it, so I was able to stop her. This one is going to keep me on my toes!
  • This girl is also tenacious. We blocked the stairs from the living room to the kitchen — just two little steps up — with a couple of dining room chairs. In less than a week she had figured out how to get around them. Now we have them tied with jump ropes. Not sure how long that will hold. I’ve got some baby fencing on order. Hopefully it will arrive before the dam is breached!
  • She has added the “oh” sound to her repertoire. She says what sounds like “ouch” sort of randomly, and we got her to say, “Uh oh.”
  • Violet is the cutest little hand clapper you ever did see! She just grins and claps, claps and grins.
  • She’s just started picking up her baby signs. She’ll sign “more” and “all done” when she sits at the high chair….more or less. It’s still a bit of a work in progress. Usually I know when she’s finished a meal because she takes each piece of food on her tray and drops it on the floor.
  • No first steps yet, but she’s well on her way. She can cruise all around a room on her own now, and when she holds my hand, she can do it with just one hand.
  • I have to say, Liam has been an awesome big brother. He walks her around the room, he keeps an eye on her for me when I ask him to, and he even helps her up the stairs all on his own. (Don’t worry, I’m always right behind.) He loves on her every chance he gets, and she doesn’t seem to mind when he gets all up in her face. He jumps around like a crazy person just to get a laugh…and she usually obliges. He says he wants to marry her, and I have to keep reminding him that he can’t marry his sister. “But I LOVE her SO MUCH!” he always replies. Indeed do we all 🙂

Here are more photos from her birthday party. Thanks to Lisa for taking all these great photos for me!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

